Bienvenue au Congrès Pan Africain d’Ornithologie (PAOC15)

16-20 Novembre 2020

Centre de Conférence Elephant Hills

Victoria Falls

Zimbabwe

A PROPOS

Le Congrès Panafricain d’Ornithologie (PAOC) se tient tous les quatre ans et réunit des centaines d’ornithologues amateurs professionnels et passionnés. La quinzième édition du PAOC (PAOC15) se tiendra du 16 au 20 novembre 2020.

LES BUTS ET OBJECTIFS DU CONGRES SONT:

  • Approfondir l’étude des oiseaux africains;
  • Promouvoir la préservation des oiseaux africains en tant que partie intégrante du patrimoine africain;
  • favoriser l’appréciation des oiseaux et la discussion sur les oiseaux africains en relation avec l’homme
  • Diffuser des informations sur les oiseaux d’Afrique moyennant des réunions internationales appropriées (par exemple les congrès) et de publications (par exemple les actes des congrès).

PAOC EST COMPOSE DE QUATRE REGIONS

Comprising of West Africa and associated islands east to Libya, Chad and Nigeria;

Les PAOC se tiennent dans l’une des régions d’Afrique énumérées ci-dessus et la préférence est donnée à l’alternance des régions et aucune région ne peut accueillir un congrès consécutivement. À ce jour, 14 congrès ont eu lieu, le premier ayant eu lieu en 1957 à Livingstone, en Zambie. Le quinzième Congrès Panafricain d’Ornithologie (PAOC15) se tiendra du 16 au 20 novembre 2020 à Victoria Falls, au Zimbabwe, dans la région de l’Afrique australe.

MESSAGE DE BIENVENUE DU PRESIDENT DU COMITE DU CONGRES PAN AFRICAIN D’ORNITHOLOGIE

Chers ornithologues, collègues et amis,

Au nom du Comité du Congrès, nous vous souhaitons une chaleureuse bienvenue au 15e Congrès Panafricain d’Ornithologie (PAOC), organisé par BirdLife Zimbabwe du 16 au 20 novembre 2020 à Victoria Falls, au Zimbabwe. Le congrès a pour thème L’URBANISATION DE L’AFRIQUE ET SES EFFETS SUR LES OISEAUX et nous avons hâte de vous accueillir dans le très beau pays de la République du Zimbabwe.

Au cours des cinq dernières décennies et depuis le premier congrès tenu à Livingstone (Zambie) en 1957, les PAOC ont énormément contribué à la recherche et au renforcement des capacités, en particulier des scientifiques et des étudiants africains de début de carrière, ce qui a eu des répercussions conduisant à de nombreux de cas de succès dans la conservation des oiseaux.

Le pays hôte, le comité organisateur et les sponsors du 15ème Congrès panafricain d’ornithologie se sont engagés pour permettre à autant de biologistes et d’ornithologues africains et non africains d’assister au congrès et de présenter leurs résultats de recherche et de conservation.

Les PAOC se réunissent tous les quatre ans et ont pour objectif de poursuivre l’étude des oiseaux africains, de promouvoir la préservation des oiseaux africains et de leurs habitats en tant que partie intégrante du patrimoine et des écosystèmes africains, de favoriser l’appréciation des oiseaux et la discussion de ceux-ci en relation avec humains, et de diffuser des informations sur les oiseaux d’Afrique par le biais de réunions internationales appropriées (Congrès) et de publications (Actes des congrès).

Un programme passionnant est en cours d’élaboration pour ce congrès. Il permettra aux participants de réfléchir et de célébrer nos réalisations passées, de tisser des contacts, d’étendre nos réseaux et d’explorer ensemble les axes de recherche actuels et futurs. Nous espérons que vous passerez un moment productif et convivial à ce congrès très spécial

L’organisation d’un congrès de cette ampleur n’est pas une humble tâche. À cette fin, j’adresse mes remerciements les plus sincères au:

  • Ministère de l’Environnement, du Tourisme et de l’Hôtellerie du Zimbabwe pour leur soutien
  • Monsieur le Ministre du Développement de l’enseignement supérieur, de la science et de la technologie du Zimbabwe pour avoir assumé le rôle de président du PAOC15, et le comité d’organisation local du PAOC, le secrétariat du PAOC et son comité scientifique.

De plus amples informations sur le congrès sont disponibles sur https://www.paoc15.org/

Pr. Sidi Imad Cherkaoui       

Associate Professor

Ecole Supérieure de Technologie de Khénifra

(University of Soltane Moulay Slimane)

BP 170 Khénifra 54000

Morocco

Président du Comité du PAOC

OUR BLOG

Welcome to the Pan-African Ornithological Congress (PAOC15)

16 – 20 November 2020
Elephant Hills Conference Centre
Victoria Falls
Zimbabwe

This website has been generously sponsored by The A.P. Leventis Ornithological Research Institute (APLORI)

ABOUT PAOC

The Pan-African Ornithological Congress (PAOC) is held once every four years and it brings together hundreds of professional and dedicated amateur ornithologists. The Fifteenth PAOC (PAOC15) will be held from the 16th to the 20th of November 2020.

THE AIMS AND PURPOSES OF THE CONGRESS ARE:

  • To further the study of African birds
  • To promote the preservation of African birds as an integral part of the African Heritage
  • To foster the appreciation of birds and discussion of African birds in relation to man
  • To disseminate information on African birds through appropriate international meetings (e.g. the Congresses) and publications (e.g. the proceedings of the Congresses).

PAOC IS COMPRISED OF FOUR REGIONS

Comprising of West Africa and associated islands east to Libya, Chad and Nigeria;

The PAOC is held in any one of the above listed regions of Africa and preference is given to alternating the regions and no region can host a Congress consecutively. To date, fourteen Congresses have been held with the maiden one held in 1957 in Livingstone, Zambia. The Fifteenth Pan African Ornithological Congress (PAOC15) will be held from 16 to 20 November 2020 in Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe in the Southern African region.

WELCOME MESSAGE FROM THE CHAIRMAN OF THE PAOC COMMITTEE

Dear Ornithologists, Colleagues and Friends,

On behalf of the Congress Committee, we warmly welcome you to the 15th Pan African Ornithological Congress (PAOC), which will be hosted by BirdLife Zimbabwe between 16 and 20 November 2020 in Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe. The theme of the Congress is URBANISING AFRICA AND ITS EFFECTS ON BIRDS and we look forward to welcoming you to the beautiful Republic of Zimbabwe.

Over the last five decades and since the first congress that was held in Livingstone (Zambia) in 1957, the PAOC has made tremendous contributions to research and capacities, especially for early African career scientists and students, resulting in impacts in many bird conservation stories and achievements.

The host and sponsors of the 15th Pan African Ornithological Congress are committed to enabling as many African and non-African biologists and ornithologists to attend the congress and present their research and conservation results.

The PAOC meets every 4 years and aims to further the study of African birds, to promote the preservation of African birds and their habitats as an integral part of African heritage and ecosystems, to foster the appreciation of birds and discussion of African birds in relation to humans, and to disseminate information on African birds through appropriate international meetings (Congresses) and publications (Proceedings of the Congresses).

An exciting programme is being developed for this congress that will allow attendees to reflect upon and celebrate our past accomplishments, renew friendships and extend our networks and jointly explore current and future research directions.  We hope that you will have a productive and fun‐filled time at this very special congress

To put a congress of this magnitude together is not a small task.  To that end, special thanks to:

  • the Ministry of Environment, Tourism and Hospitality Industry of Zimbabwe for their support
  • the Minister of Higher and Tertiary Education, Science and Technology Development of Zimbabwe for taking on the role of Chair of PAOC15,

and the PAOC Local Organizing Committee, the PAOC Secretariat and the PAOC Scientific Committee.

Further information about the congress is available at https://www.paoc15.org/

Pr. Sidi Imad Cherkaoui
Associate Professor
Ecole Supérieure de Technologie de Khénifra
(University of Soltane Moulay Slimane)
BP 170 Khénifra 54000
Morocco

Chair PAOC Committee

OUR BLOG

How to Know the Birds

/
The dawn chorus on a bright June morning in the foothills of…

An eventful Year of the Bird

/
Could it be that birding gets more interesting, and more exciting,…

Bird Watching Health Benefits

/
Bird watching is a popular hobby – according to the RSPB,…

This post is also available in: French